Skip to content

Overwhelmed

August 24, 2007

If you know me, you know I am an organized freak. I love to calendar. I enjoy labeling. What are my strengths? Organization. I think organization will help me get through graduate school. I am almost current on all of my readings and papers due for Tuesday/Thursday next week and it’s only Friday! I have hours set aside tomorrow for reading, reflection, and writing papers. (Yes, papers. I have two and two quizes next week.)

Another thing about me is that I am a people pleaser. I am getting better, but I am especially bad when it comes to babysitting and housesitting. I enjoy doing both. I find pleasure and leisure in both. I like helping people out. I like making money. It’s a win-win-win situation… Most of the time. Several weeks ago I committed to housesitting and babysitting quite a bit this week. Because housesitting is just a straight line on the calendar, days look blank that should look full of driving across the metroplex to hand-feed dogs. So I fill that time babysitting. In the midst of this chaotic schedule is school. I spent this week driving a lot. Running from one babysitting job to let the dogs out to another babysitting job while reading ancient texts and eating in the car. Because my calendar LOOKED empty, I committed myself to too many things. And many of the things I committed myself to were unknowns at the time. (It’s amazing how things can turn from “It’s really easy, just a few hours” to complicated, day-long messes.) I have now learned to mark time in my calendar for study, reading, time with friends, and relaxation. This time is flexible, but non-negotiable.

I’ve heard it said that when you say yes to something you are saying no to something else. I’ve said yes to babysitting, housesitting, and helping people out, I am saying no to my friends, studies, and emotional health. ๐Ÿ™‚

On the flip side, I’ve made some serious cash this week due to all of this hard work. (Dave Ramsey is so proud of me!) And I’m caught up on reading and papers because kids need to sleep, but babysitters can’t. ๐Ÿ™‚

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

