Skip to content

Exclusivity

November 13, 2007
tags:

You know when you learn a new word and you hear it all over the place? Recently I’ve been thinking about exclusivity and suddenly examples of it have shown up in my world. I definitely have exclusive tendencies, but it is something I am very conscious of nearly all of the time. Particularly after working in youth ministry full time, I have become more and more conscious of including everyone, regardless. Not to pull the Jesus card, but isn’t that what being the body of Christ is all about? We are called to be the body of Christ, which means coming together, weak and strong, intelligent and sarcastic, chatty and introverted. This is what makes us whole.

I try to understand another side of this coin. I try to understand instances where exclusivity is necessary or desirable. I can’t think of very many circumstances where leaving others out, deliberately or inadvertently, is polite, helpful, or fun. One of my passions is connecting people from a variety of life experiences. It’s very easy to for me to remain in my own corner of the world, within my comfort zone, but from that place, I do not expand my horizons, gain valuable experience, or meet new friends. Change is hard, but the best of favorites started as new experiences at some point. I am becoming more and more conscious of exclusivity and feel very confident that we are all being called to be more inclusive.

It’s the last week of class. I can’t wait!! We leave for home a week from Wednesday. I can’t freaking wait!!! šŸ™‚

One Comment leave one →
  1. Robin permalink
    November 27, 2007 2:26 am

    Wooohooo! I’m mentioned in the blog :-)! I had a blast hanging out with you in Dallas! Miss you!

Leave a Reply

