Skip to content

Calling, purpose, job descriptions…

May 29, 2008
tags:

I have been doing a great deal of thinking about jobs, calling, and purpose lately. I saw an episode of Oprah recently where they discussed being passionate about your job. One of the suggestions of the job coach was to keep a record for an entire week of the things in your job that you enjoy doing and the things that you do not enjoy doing. The example had a red sheet you would write things on if you were about to go do something you did not want to do and a green sheet you would write on if you were about to go do something that energized you. The point being, the things that you are passionate about are not necessarily the things you are the BEST at. Our skill-set and our passions are connected, but are not one in the same. I thought that was interesting, especially since I’m not entirely sure what it is that I’m good at yet.

I spent my morning meeting with a “Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisor.” She was absolutely lovely and taught me everything and more that I’ve ever wanted to know about accounting and book-keeping. I learned a lot, but she was fun, so it wasn’t dull at all. After she left, I spent an hour or so entering all of the receipts from MomsOutLoud into QuickBooks. Perhaps boring to some, but energizing to me. I am passionate about both being with people and completing important tasks. I see the importance of the books being kept in an organized and professional manner. Doing the books with integrity is very important to me because I know that it will have an impact on the business as a whole. I am not big picture at all; I have a lot of trouble seeing the big picture and am in constant need for someone to point to the big picture so that I can take care of the details. That’s what I’ve been learning today.

I was walking back from the kitchen to my desk smiling to myself because I’d stayed on task and gotten so many things done today! (In addition to the accounting, I also set up our voicemail system, which has been more challenging than it sounds… There are 8 extensions! I also ordered t-shirts for staff!) That made me think about Oprah’s job coach and what I would write on the green sheet versus the red sheet today. While busy-work makes me crazy and I lose integrity, when I can see how the important details fit into the bigger picture, I really enjoy the small, seemingly unimportant tasks.

Here’s a picture of me so you can visualize what I look like while you read my post. 😉 I’m happy working from my bedroom office. My desk faces the window and I can listen to the birds while I work.

Working

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

