Skip to content

More from my monastic mind.

July 14, 2008

A friend and classmate wrote this gorgeous psalm during our time at St. Gregory’s. I wanted to share it with you all. I imagine I’ll print it out and put it in my copy of This Day and incorporate it into my daily devo time.

Coming Home
By Beth Tatum

My soul rests in you, Lord.
In this place of peace
the heavens touch the earth
and creation stretches its embrace to all
through the open arms of Christ’s love.

The bells chime a little Broadway tune,
and then the redbird chirps on the cemetery lawn.
Always keeping death before us, both Brothers and Fathers,
and even Sisters, rest here awaiting the resurrection.
The sacred has redeemed the ordinary
and the ordinary is extraordinary.
The flash of unexpected goldfish in a pond
and the tickle of grass beneath my bare toes,
the sound of your Holy Breath sifting and stirring the leaves,
and the still small whisper in my heart telling me to pray for my friend in need,
All point to your glory and wondrous work,
Reminding me that I don’t need to wait for the life that begins after death, but anytime I notice your presence, I am already home.

And then one day, we will all praise your name and join the unending hymn.
Glory be to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit. Amen

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

