Skip to content

Happy happy happy happy WEDDING!

July 21, 2008

“No man can step into the same river twice, for the second time it is not the same river and he is not the same man.” — Greek Heraclitus

This quote rang in my head as I drove down 35S from OKC to Frisco on Sunday morning. I was heading home, hair still sprayed in curls, from marrying off one of my best friends in the whole world. And I knew that the weekend had changed me. I was anxious when I drove in on Thursday afternoon. I was not stressed for my friend, she married the most wonderful man on the planet and will be so happy. I was worried that I would be lonely not having a date with me. I was worried that seeing my dear friends who are already married would make me long for that companionship. I worried that I’d forgotten something at my apartment that I’d need. (I brought 9 pairs of shoes and 4 EXTRA outfits…) I was worried I’d trip down the aisle, pass out in the front of the church, or something else plausible and embarrassing.

While I was tired and getting sick, my drive home was relaxing. I smiled most of the way, jammed to my iPod, and talked on the phone. I was not anxious. I was not consumed with thoughts of others. I did not flinch at the sight of a turn-off I used to take in another life. I was comfortable in my own skin. I haven’t felt that way in months.

What happened between these two trips to the river was magical. I reconnected with some incredible friends, created lasting memories, and participated in a moving and emotional event. The bachelorette party was so much fun; I can’t remember laughing that hard ever. It wasn’t anything big, it was just perfect. Spending time with such wonderful people was refreshing. The bridesmaids were such fun. We should definitely make this an annual event! I’ll post pictures soon. I didn’t take many with my camera so I am waiting on others to post theirs. 🙂

On a completely unrelated note, I leave for Puerto Rico one week from today!!! Get excited! I went to my doctor this morning for a horrible chest cough and am on a z-pak this week, so I’ll be good to go by Monday! (She also gave me codeine cough syrup to help me sleep.) 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. Angry Scott permalink
    July 22, 2008 1:50 am

    Hey, Leanne!

    Sarah’s bookmarked your blog in our Firefox … and I was glad to see you went to the doctor before the Puerto Rico trip. Sounds like you’ll be in good shape and won’t die while you’re there. PLUS!

    Anyway, it was great to meet you and hopefully we’ll cross paths again some day.

    Have a good trip. If not, I’ll be really angry. 🙂

Leave a Reply

