Skip to content

Crazy life

July 29, 2008

I’m not sure who’s life I’ve been living the past couple of weeks, but it’s definitely been fantastic! I decided last Wednesday that I needed to go to New Orleans for the weekend. Yes, I needed to pack for my month long trip to Puerto Rico. Yes, I needed to buy new walking shoes. Yes, I needed to rest up, play with my kitties, and do laundry. But even more than all of those things, I needed to go to New Orleans. It was definitely worth the 16.5 hours I spent in the car driving, getting up hours before the crack of dawn, and being a little impulsive.

Beignets at Cafe Du Monde

Beignets at Cafe Du Monde

"Look at the camera, get close to me, and click the button." ... "You are not the boss of me."

"Look at the camera, get close to me, and click the button." ... "You are not the boss of me."

In front of Jackson Square in New Orleans

In front of Jackson Square in New Orleans

After a wonderful day in New Orleans

After a wonderful day in New Orleans

Most of you already know that I am spending a month in Puerto Rico with some friends. I left yesterday early morning and arrived here at about 4pm or so. Lisa and the kids picked me up from the airport and took me on a beautiful driving tour of San Juan. The ocean is absolutely gorgeous here. Old San Juan is beautiful. The hilly countryside is so pretty. Then we drove to their incredible home. It is a modern home with floor to ceiling windows covering the front and back. I have my own bedroom loft with a spiral staircase from the living room to my room. I even have a bidet in my bathroom! (I haven’t used it, so don’t ask!)

We had a wonderful dinner and after we ate, we got in the pool and watched the sun set. It was GORGEOUS! Surreal, but wonderful. It was so nice to see them again.

This morning we woke up and I went to Walgreens all by myself! It is about 3 minutes from their house, so I took the car and drove there. I do not speak ANY Spanish at all, but most people speak English here. All of the chain stores are in English (I actually saw a Sizzler last night!) and products are in English, but everyone primarily speaks Spanish. The Walgreens looked just as it does in the continental states, but I felt completely naked not speaking the language. Someone was standing in front of something I needed and I didn’t know how to say excuse me, so I wandered around the store until they moved and I could get it. 🙂 Overall, I felt good about my little excursion, but know that I will need to learn more Spanish to get by. (I do know Hablas Anglais? and No Habla Espanol which will get me very far, I’m sure!)

We left about 10am and headed into San Juan to spend the morning/lunch at the beach! It took us a little while to get there; it’s confusing to drive in Puerto Rico, nothing is well marked, and drivers are INSANE! We got to the beach just in time for lunch, ate yummy sandwiches, and headed into the water! We had a great time floating out a little farther than she could touch and just being in the water. We got very sandy, but it was awesome.

Hudson shoveling.

Sweet boy shoveling.

Ava and Hudson at the beach

The kids at the beach

Ava and Leanne getting ready to leave the beach

The sweet girl and Leanne getting ready to leave the beach

Life is wonderful. I have nothing to complain about. Don’t be jealous, just come visit us in Puerto Rico! 🙂 I hope to keep this updated fairly regularly, so check back often to hear about my adventures in the Caribbean!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2008 12:50 am

    I am sooooo jealous to see that beach and hear about the beautiful scenery. Texas is hot, brown, and flat. No vacation for the mompreneur until – I hope! – next spring. Yikes! You’ll have to have enough fun for the both of us. Somehow, I think you’ll manage!! 🙂

  2. Lisa Shaw permalink
    July 30, 2008 1:48 am

    Leanne, you don’t have to be polite…I got us totally and utterly LOST this morning, ha! Glad you are having fun, we are LOVING having you here!

  3. starrdog permalink
    July 30, 2008 12:45 pm

    My parents are from mayaguez, we live here in the states, jersey! Lol! Those pictures are great. More proof why my parents can’t stop talking about their homeland. Enjoy!

  4. mika permalink
    July 30, 2008 1:14 pm

    Wow, what an awesome month you are about to have!

    I think being impulsive is totally normal. Especially if it involves NOLA in any way, shape, or form! I went there for a meeting a few years ago…and I am still dating the guy that I “found” there. Long story, will tell you some other time. : )

    Keep blogging! I have been trying to be a good blogger again!

  5. Laurieo permalink
    August 4, 2008 12:35 am

    Did I miss a big announcement? How is the hunk in the pictures? The guy with his arm around you?? Fill me in!

Trackbacks

  1. Leanne and Jarrod « this is what i do

Leave a Reply

