Skip to content

As long as there is an Ann Taylor, I am happy!

July 31, 2008

Another day in paradise! I slept until about 8:15am this morning, which was a little slice of heaven in and of itself. After taking a shower, I fixed my hair and put on makeup for the first time since my arrival to the island. We got ready and went to the mall. It looks like any other mall… Moderately confusing layout that requires you to go up and down a lot, but the stores were just like in the continental states. Gap, Old Navy, JC Penneys, Macy’s, etc. We ate Sbarro pizza for lunch (I ordered in Spanish with INCREDIBLE help and coaching from Lisa!) and did some great shopping. There was a Sizzler IN the food court at the mall. How great is that?! The kids were GREAT and did an excellent job holding hands and being patient. The people in the mall mostly speak Spanish; I even heard someone say my current catchphrase: Con Permiso! (Literally “with permission” but is used down here when you mean excuse me or pardon me for interrupting.) There were also some very odd booths set up like at a conference for Clorox wipes, vacuums, and Burger king. We got home and I got some Moms Out Loud work done before lounging on a raft in the pool with my current brainless novel. The pool was mostly in the shade which made the experience a little less exciting. It is not nearly as warm down here as it is in Dallas so being in the pool isn’t as luxurious as it is at home. I came back in, changed into my walking clothes, and hit the road. I only went a few miles, but it was nice to get out and walk again. I haven’t been training regularly the past couple of weeks due to my cough, crazy life, and travels. I plan to get back into the habit down here. I walked out of the gated neighborhood and up and down the streets. It is moderately intimidating because I honestly do not speak enough Spanish to get around, which makes me nervous. Lisa does an INCREDIBLE job and is teaching me and being VERY patient with me. She took dry cleaning in today and spoke only in Spanish and made the kids dental appointments in Spanish on the phone. Totally awesome. After my walk the kiddos were up from their naps so we hung out, colored pictures, and chatted. Dinner was a YUMMO Rachael Ray Sammie. After dinner the kids and I played in the pool and Lisa cleaned the kitchen and jammed to John Mayer. 🙂 The kids and I swam and kicked and floated until the sun went down and it became way too cold to be swimming. We came in, took showers, and got ready for bed. After reading books and brushing teeth, the kiddos were fast asleep, leaving Lisa and I to eat brownies and watch Jon and Kate Plus 8. Gotta love those marathons! I am also so thankful for a great conversation with Susan! She and the kiddos checked in on my babies this afternoon. Sophie watched everything from her perch on the cat tower and Oliver got picked up by Haley. 🙂 I’m so thankful that they are taken care of! I just finished my This Day devotional and am getting ready to share my day with the states and go to sleep. I love the comfort that reading the same devotional each night brings no matter where I am. Of course I love being in my papasan chair with at least one cat on my lap, but being here is pretty freaking sweet as well. If you haven’t checked out Stookey’s devotional and are looking for a gender-inclusive, simple, profound, lectionary-based devotional, please check it out. I adore mine and give them away regularly. It’s not conservative, close-minded, or frustrating. It does bring me incredible comfort, stability, and peace. Not that it’s hard to find peace in paradise! 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Laurie hr permalink
    July 31, 2008 2:45 am

    Beautiful!!! The kids look great. Love the Scotty P’s cup in the bathroom! Have fun! Give everyone a hug for me!

  2. September 10, 2009 9:58 am

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

