Skip to content

Just another day in paradise…

August 1, 2008

We had another glorious day in Puerto Rico today! I woke up and really forced myself to go for a walk. I hope to continue that habit until it happens naturally. I got back and immediately jumped in the shower. After breakfast (yummy whole grain toast with guava jam!) We all jumped in the pool. It was magical! We spent about 2.5 hours in the pool, only getting out to eat a lunch of grilled ham and cheese NEXT to the pool. πŸ™‚ My skin is a little pink this evening because of our day in the water, but it was so wonderful. We didn’t have anything to do. I do not feel anxious or rushed here at all. Who cares that I’d just washed my hair before getting in the pool. There is always time for another shower.

After lunch and more playing, we had resting time. I finished the book I’d been reading (It’s called Prep and it was only moderately book) and got some work done on my laptop. The kids woke up and we hung out until Lisa came home and made dinner. She is an amazing cook! We had Swedish meatballs over spaghetti. Being Swedish myself, I can say that they were incredible. πŸ™‚ After cleaning up from dinner, chatting, and playing with the kids, we made chocolate chip cookies and the next thing we knew, it was bed time! I read Hansel and Gretel, which is disturbing and not at all a kids story.

There’s the boring run-down of my day. Pretty run-of-the-mill and not very exciting…except that it all happened in Puerto Rico, which automatically makes it better than most days back home. πŸ™‚ Tomorrow is the little man’s 2nd birthday and Tom is coming home, so it’ll be a fun day. I can see that it would be easy to get in a rut down here. This afternoon as the clouds rolled in and completely darkened this gorgeous house, I began to question my calling, purpose, and education. Why am I getting such an expensive and time-consuming degree? What exactly am I going to do when I graduate? Is it really necessary to get my MDiv or will my MTS allow me to do exactly what I want? What exactly is it that I want? All of these things I’m processing while I’m down here… Here are some of the things I’d like to do with my life once I get whatever degree I end up with…

  • Intergenerational women’s ministry
  • Administration and organization
  • Agendas and meetings
  • Young adult ministry
  • Small group ministry
  • Some sort of mentoring program for youth or women
  • Inclusive, welcoming, community-based ministry
  • Innovative, life-changing, personal ministry equipping others to find their place

I do not know how this will all manifest itself. I am not convinced that the local church is for me, but do not know really where else to turn. Perhaps the internship office at Perkins needs to be my first stop when I get back to campus. All I know right now is that I’m doing what I’m supposed to be doing. I’m called to be in Puerto Rico to relax, pray, learn, grow, and serve. I’m called to be at Perkins. I’m called to be working with Rebekah at Moms Out Loud. All of these components of my life are part of my purpose. And as new and wonderful things become priorities, things become complicatedly simply.

On a completely different note, I need to get sunglasses that do not block the sun on the side of my face and nose because I currently look silly and striped. πŸ™‚ The picture doesn’t do it justice, but here’s one of me and the sweet birthday boy.

Me and Hudson after quiet time today.

Me and the sweet boy after quiet time today.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

