Skip to content

Training in Paradise

August 1, 2008

I was doing a really good job training for the Dallas Ft. Worth Breast Cancer 3-day until about two weeks ago. I was going at least 4 miles a day, but sometimes up to 12 miles. I was maintaining a good 12mph pace and really enjoying listening to podcasts.

Then Renee got married, I got a terrible cough, took a spontaneous weekend to New Orleans, and moved to Puerto Rico. 🙂 Now I am trying to get back into the groove in my new surroundings. Puerto Rico is not nearly as hot as Texas, especially this time of year. It has not yet been 90 here, but from what I’ve heard, Dallas is well over 100. However, it is INCREDIBLY humid here and very hilly. A GREAT reason to train!

So I went out this morning, Dave Ramsey in my ears, and walked all around the neighborhood, out the gates and up to the big silver ball. Then I crossed the street and walked past Wendy’s and down to Walgreens. I pass palm trees, coconuts, little birds that make silly noises, and people. I learned when I got home that “Buenos” is an appropriate greeting. I enjoy walking outside the neighborhood because I observe the sights and I feel it will help my Spanish. I learned Desayuno means breakfast and fresa means strawberry because of Wendy’s.

Physically, I know that I will be able to handle the challenges that come from the 60 miles that I’ll walk in November. Now I am getting just a little bit anxious about the financial burden that I am carrying. Every walker commits to raising $2,200. I have raised $1,200 because of the incredible generosity of my friends and family. I have several fundraising opportunities through my team as well. I would love to include you all in my fundraising efforts. Here is what you can do to help:

  1. Donate. Every dollar helps.
  2. Mention to friends and family that I’m walking. Recently a dear friend’s mother donated money to my walk. I was so honored.
  3. Pray for me and my team as we continue fundraising and training.
  4. Mark your calendar for our Mother Daughter Tea at Grace Avenue on September 7th! If you are a mother or have a mother and live in or near Frisco, this is going to be an awesome event that you won’t want to miss.
  5. Mark your calendar for October 4th for our Golf Tournament also in Frisco! If you like golf and want to do something to help fight cancer, this is going to be a remarkable event.

I am incredible proud to be walking in this event in memory of my grandma. I am honored to be on such an incredible team. I appreciate your support more than you know.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 5, 2008 12:06 pm

    You can definitely do it! But if you hit a sticking point on training or fundraising, don’t hesitate to contact a Breast Cancer 3-Day coach at 1-800-996-3DAY.

Leave a Reply

