Skip to content

Happy Birthday, little man!

August 2, 2008

Today is the little man’s 2nd Birthday! He woke up to a crib FULL of blue balloons! We took our time getting ready this morning because it was POURING rain. We errands and the kids and I stayed in the car and watched a rooster eat a mango, played with birthday balloons, and danced to Miss Laurie’s songs on the CD player. Then we headed straight for a celebratory birthday lunch and play on the playground. Unfortunately the rain prohibited us from playing too much, but we did have a yummy lunch and some fun inside

I needed to make a run to K-Mart for a birthday present and some other things, so they waited in the car for me. It was definitely an adventure as the ENTIRE store is in Spanish. I found everything I needed, waited in line, and even got the clerk to speak in English. While this is never my goal because I am desperately trying to learn Spanish, in this case it was necessary. I did not know the Spanish word for price check. πŸ™‚

We returned home, played around the house, and got ready for resting time. I caught up with two Js before Lisa and I joined Denise Austin for some aerobics. Denise was on the side of a mountain in Utah with a very high-cut leotard. Lisa and I were in the living room in…well, not leotards. The kids woke up right as Denise was cooling down. Thank goodness for a wonderful workout!

Also, I think I want to do young adult ministry. I think my hang-ups with the local church are really hang-ups with parents. Parents: you know I love you. I’d just rather get you connected into a small group than hear why I’m completely ruining your child’s life. πŸ™‚ Perhaps it’s not just young adult ministry that I’m interested in, perhaps I want to do small group ministry.

BUT I also do not want to be in the local church married to someone in the local church for two reasons.

  1. I do want to worship as a family. This is very important to me.
  2. I don’t want to work on staff with my beloved. Some people can do it and do it wonderfully and successfully. I do not think I am one of those people.

So, either I need to eliminate all ministers from my dating pool, change my parameters, or explore non-traditional forms of ministry outside the local church. The third is kinda what I would like to do anyway. I imagine I COULD work in the local church, but it just doesn’t sound appealing… Couldn’t I do college ministry or campus ministry and worship wherever I want to? I’m a GREAT congregant. I LOVE being a congregant. I love being a volunteer in the church. How come I can’t just find someone to pay me to do that? πŸ™‚ I also love to write. I could write articles or something and still go to church wherever I want. I also like the idea of congregational consultant, but that idea is so random I won’t even bring it up here right now. πŸ™‚ It’s hard to be sure whether this career crisis has to do with my complicatedly simple life, the free time and relaxation I’ve found in Puerto Rico, or the fact that I’m looking at shelling out a ton of money for school and I’m not 100% sure why… Except for the fact that I enjoy it. πŸ™‚

I’m thankful that this life distracts me from my overwhelming thoughts occasionally. πŸ™‚ Tom got home today and we ate a delicious dinner before going out for birthday ice cream! It was awesome! πŸ™‚ Tomorrow we will celebrate the little man’s birthday for real with presents and a choo-choo cake! Get excited for that!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

