Skip to content

Planning my whole life in paradise

August 5, 2008

One of my goals for Puerto Rico was to figure out what I want to do with my life. (and get tan, read books, and sleep…) I’ve been here just over a week and while I have not decided what I want to do with my life, I have made some pretty important decisions. I’ve started making plans to get my Master of Theological Studies versus my Master of Divinity. The MTS is 48 credit hours rather than an MDiv’s 84. (72 classroom hours and a 12 hour internship.) I’ve gone back and forth about this decision about 50 times since I started at Perkins, but right now the shorter, less expensive degree seems like the best bet. I can always go back and get my MDiv later. So, I’m trying to figure out how I can do 12 hours this fall, 12 hours in the spring, and an extra 3 hours somewhere. I’m fairly confident that I can do that and graduate in May of 2009. This seems much less overwhelming than getting my MDiv and graduating sometime before the end of the millennium.

However, this simple degree change requires me to reapply to Perkins. Crazy, I know. Especially with my incredibly high GPA. πŸ˜‰ So, I’m working on getting recommendation letters, writing essays, and writing a response to Charles Wood’s article on theological education. It all seems a little superfluous, but this time (unlike the other times I’ve thought about switching degrees) it seems worth it. There is really no need for me to spent the money and time getting the longer degree if I am not going to be an elder. And I am pretty confident that I am not being called to be an elder. An MTS will help me in local church ministry, higher education, and teaching in whatever capacity I decide to pursue. Graduating in two years will help me with my debt. πŸ™‚

I have also been attempting to wrap my brain around a move in May. I knew that my apartment lease being up in February would eventually be inconvenient, I just did not realize it would happen so quickly. No need to write about that here, just putting it out there that Dallas may not be my home come this time next year. You must know how I love to plan and if a big change is coming within a year, I should start preparing myself either way. πŸ™‚

So, while I do not know what I want to do once I graduate, I know that eventually (sooner rather than later) I will. I know who I would like to live near and I know where he lives. I know what I do NOT want to do with my life, which I feel is at least a step in the right direction. πŸ™‚

If you haven’t looked at the pictures I took on my nature walk this morning, you really should. They are beautiful. The flowers in the neighborhood are gorgeous! Orchids everywhere. Gorgeous vibrant colors that my new camera can capture with incredible accuracy. It also did a great job capturing the incredible monsoon we had here today… It was incredibly sunny and yet the sky opened up and it poured down rain. Totally wild.

Potty training is still going well. I’m learning more about the principles behind it and am completely on board with the method. It’s intense. Lisa hasn’t left the house in two days. She’s a total rockstar with the patience and endurance of a saint. Also, I did leave the house today and was hit on by an old Puerto Rican man. He did think I spoke Spanish (very briefly) which is flattering. Most people immediately speak English to me… πŸ™‚

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

