Skip to content

Didn’t quite make it…

August 7, 2008

Do you like the new template? I wanted a change… Don’t forget to click the link to the right and check out my breast cancer 3-day page! I’d love to reach my goal by Labor Day and I’m just $1,000 short. I think I can definitely do it with your help!

Another gorgeous day in paradise! Potty training is going well; we had another accident-free day! I went for a lovely walk this morning. I am not walking for as long or as far as I was back home, but the hills are totally killing my legs. I hurt more here than I did at home, but the neighborhood is so gorgeous that I am pretty sure I will continue to walk regularly.

The little girl had her first day of school today, which was a huge success! No Spanish lessons yet, but it’s still early. I did have some Spanish lessons when I ventured out alone again today. I went to two grocery stores and a little shop for post cards. (Actually three grocery stores but the small one inside the post office hardly qualifies…) The little shop was great. I faked my Spanish and no one knew. The second grocery store had lots of produce, no German Chocolate cake mix, no caramels, and no chocolate chips. But it did have a few people who were not patient enough to show me where the non-10-items-or-less lines were. I don’t speak Spanish that well, but I am not stupid. I also had my cart continually rammed by someone behind me in line. Standard actions would be considered rude in Texas, but here it is normal and not rude at all. Stop signs do not mean much. Exit and entrance signs don’t mean anything. And it’s okay to cut in line. Not rude. No judgment from me. Just an observation from the gringa.

I’m stuck on the last part of my application for my new degree program at Perkins. I need to write a short (one page double-spaced) review of an article that I’ve already read and discussed. It’s not a challenge at all, I’m just stuck on it. I’m not focusing. Instead I was totally lazy today and looked up ridiculous things on the internet involving places to live in other states and diamonds. I hope to get it done this weekend. I should tell Lisa my goal because she’ll make sure I accomplish it rather than wasting time doing nothing. I’d also like to read more rather than taking advantage of the wireless internet… We’ll see if I can start that trend. We’re down to 2 weeks. I’m not counting.

Dinner tonight was tacos on the patio and it was lovely. The weather is absolutely gorgeous here, not super hot like in Texas. It is so nice in the evenings and it was awesome to relax and enjoy a delicious meal and great conversation. If you were stranded on a desert island what three CDs would you want to have with you? And would you rather have David Beckham or sunscreen? After dinner we had a rockin’ dance party with Harry Connick, Jr. Thanks again for the CD, sweet boy.

The little man is pretty much potty trained, so I’m looking forward to spending more time with Lisa and the kids tomorrow. There are still a few things I’d like to do in PR like the rain forest and the beach a few more times. I’d also like to adequately check out the fort in San Juan. I’m not entirely sure what it is, but it looks like fun! (Maybe I just want to fly kites in FRONT of the fort!) I am sleepy from the ice cream and wine, so I will leave you tonight with some pictures. Enjoy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Janet Odom permalink
    August 8, 2008 7:04 am

    I hope you are able to remember all the wonderful things there. You should with the new camera. It is beautiful. Enjoy the time and focus on your application. Janet

Leave a Reply

