Skip to content

Tacozagna

August 11, 2008

Lisa makes incredible dinners and is a wonderful cook. I need to gather all of her wonderful recipes before I leave. Tonight we had tacozagna. Both kids loved it and so did Lisa and I. It’s a Rachael Ray, of course!

3 tablespoons vegetable oil, divided
2 1/2 pounds ground turkey or ground sirloin
1 zucchini
2 carrots, peeled
1 onion, peeled
3 cloves garlic, peeled
3 tablespoons chili powder, 3 palm fulls
2 teaspoons ground cumin, 2/3 palm full
1 tablespoon coriander, a palm full
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
1 cup beef stock
6 (8-inch) flour tortillas
3 cups shredded Chihuahua cheese or Monterey Jack
4 scallions, chopped
2 hearts romaine lettuce, chopped
3 plum tomatoes, seeded and chopped

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Heat a large high sided skillet over medium-high heat with 2 tablespoons vegetable oil. Add the meat and brown, 5 minutes. While meat browns, grate the zucchini and carrots with a box grater. Add the vegetables to the meat and grate in the onion and garlic. Season the meat with chili, cumin, coriander, salt and pepper and cook 7 to 8 minutes more to soften vegetables. Stir in beef stock. Grease a 8 by 13-inch baking pan with vegetable oil. Layer in 3 overlapping flour tortillas and top with 1/3 meat, 1/3 cheese. Repeat the layers twice and bake 10 to 12 minutes to brown cheese. Top with scallions, lettuce and tomatoes, cut into squares and serve.

SO yummy and lots of veggies with the carrots and zucchini in the meat! I’ll continue to post the amazing recipes, so get ready!

I’m headed to bed early tonight. I took a nap this afternoon because I haven’t been sleeping well. It’s not paradise, it’s me. My bed is wonderfully comfortable, my mind just races and I can’t sleep. But tonight I’ll sleep good. Please continue praying for my family. My sister continues to impress me with her maturity and strength. I could not be more proud of her.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

