Skip to content

Thank you for Cheese Biscuits.

August 12, 2008
tags:

This is what happens when you fall into the pool. I cannot remember the last time I scraped my knees. Don’t call me clumsy, it really hurt!

Two funny Spanish stories that wouldn’t have happened if I could actually speak Spanish.

1) We took the little man to the clinic today for his 2 year well-check. As Lisa paid for the visit I took him out to the car. I had our parking ticket and had to pay. I decided I would just give her a $20 bill because my prices in Spanish aren’t very good… I hand her the bill and she says something… The woman behind me says, “Do you have anything smaller?” I told her that I had two dollar bills, but that was all. The woman behind me and the woman taking the money talked and I asked the woman behind me how much I owed. $1.75. Stupidest American in Puerto Rico…

2) This story could have easily happened to anyone… I’m standing next to a man looking at orange juice. He is jabbering away in Spanish, but when I look at him, he doesn’t look at me. So, I get my orange juice and start to walk away. He yells in my direction something. I don’t turn around, but there is no one else in the aisle with us. He yells again. I turn around. He looks at me. I look confused. He yells again. I say, “Habla Englais?’ He looks at me. I say, “Pardon?” He finally says, “Oh no, my wife” and points down the aisle. No one is there, but there is a woman around the corner that I assume must be his wife. I walk away embarrassed without even apologizing.

Is this more or less embarrassing than falling into the pool? I’m not sure…

This evening I decided it was safe enough to go for a walk. While I was walking, a wonderful neighbor stopped to chat with me. Her name is Carmen and she’s my new best friend. She told me that they train dogs in English rather than Spanish because the commands are so much shorter. She told me “Encanta” means pleased to meet you in Spanish. She told me that when you get sunburned you should put vinegar on it to stop the itching and peeling. She talked about the Susan G. Koman walk and told me where a wonderful walking trail is down by the walgreens. We are going to bring her cookies and brownies tomorrow because Lisa is wonderful and hospitable. But honestly she needs to stop making such delicious food otherwise I’m going to have to pay more to fly home…

Tomorrow we’re going to do some souvenir shopping! Place your requests now. Except Jarrod. I already have your Sizzler gift card all picked out! 😉

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2008 1:09 am

    it’s a good thing that i LOVE the sizzler, punk.

  2. Janet Odom permalink
    August 13, 2008 11:35 am

    Quit your wining. Every one falls down. You are a big girl, get over it. Janet

  3. Robin permalink
    August 13, 2008 1:50 pm

    OMG…when i was in spain i got a crazy bad sunburn and the director of our program taught me about the vinegar thing. It totally works!
    Also, I don’t think you are the stupidest American in Puerto Rico. I handed a cashier a 5 dollar bill and 5 ones for an 8 dollar meal yesterday…and i’m ‘on the mainland.’ Haha.

Leave a Reply

