Skip to content

Peeing on the side of the road and other interesting things

September 2, 2008

I always figured I’d stop blogging when I got back from Puerto Rico, but life keeps getting interesting and I want to keep you informed. 🙂 Jarrod and I evacuated from Slidell, LA on Sunday. We left right after church on Sunday around 12:30pm and headed to Hattiesburg, MS. That was the only way out.

Contraflow on 59 N

Contraflow on 59 N

It took about 7 hours to go 40 miles. Jarrod drove his little manual truck like a champ, though. And Lucy and I only complained a few times…

Being stuck on the interstate for hours in an evacuated zone is interesting. All gas stations are closed. All rest stops are closed. All exits are closed. All restaurants are closed. Bathrooms don’t exist unless you are willing to go on the side of the road. Which I was not. Until it had been 6 hours and I thought I was going to throw up. Jarrod and I got a lot closer because of our incredible experience.

We had a really good time before the evacuation. We went into New Orleans for a Historical Ghost Tour, which was way more fun than Jarrod will admit to! We had lunch with his pastors, John and Marie, on Saturday before going home and packing up his place. Sunday we worshipped with the few and the proud at Aldersgate before hitting the road.

Now I’m back into the swing of school, getting settled in the new house, and life. Jarrod’s in town for at least a few days waiting out the traffic back into Slidell.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tom permalink
    September 4, 2008 7:36 am

    Last time I peed on the side of the road, I started a revolution. Greetings from Trinidad & Tobago.

Leave a Reply

