Skip to content

Walking for you.

September 13, 2008

I would bet that you know someone who is fighting breast cancer, fought breast cancer, or lost the fight to breast cancer. Think about her (or him) and their battle. She was courageous. She was in pain. She was gracious. She had dignity. I am walking 60 miles over the course of 3 days in November because my grandma Shirley was not given an opportunity to fight. Because of the funds raised from the Susan G. Koman foundation, women all over the world are given a chance to fight. A man in one of my classes recently found out that his wife is fighting breast cancer. Her prognosis is very good; she will have surgery later this month and hopefully that will kick cancer in the ass for good. It is because of money raised for research that she was given the chance to fight. Thirty years ago my grandmother was told to get her things in order and say goodbye. I am so thankful for medicine, doctors, and research that has made it possible for her to fight. But there is still work to do.

I am walking for Grandma Shirley. I am walking for Janet. I am walking for Sue Ann. I am walking for Lawanda. I am walking for Carol. I am walking for my children, nieces, nephews, and grandchildren because I am going to be an awesome presence in their lives. They are going to know me. I deserve a lifetime. And so do you. I want to live in a world without cancer. We aren’t there yet, but with your help, we can get there.

I am currently $863 away from my goal of $2,200. I would love to reach this goal by October 1st. (I NEED to reach this goal by November 7th!) Many of you have already graciously donated to this cause. Thank you. If you have not, I encourage you to join me in kicking cancer’s ass. Many companies will match donations; make your donation go that much farther! Most days I get about 30 individual hits to this site. If each of you were to donate just $30 today, I would reach my goal. It doesn’t matter if you know me or not. If you have a connection to breast cancer or want to help fight ALL kinds of cancer, donate today. More women and men would be given the chance to fight. More children would know their grandparents. More people will be given a lifetime.

I am sure that many of you get uncomfortable when I write posts dedicated to fundraising. Honestly, it makes me uncomfortable as well. I don’t want to talk about money. But I also don’t want to lose anyone else to this horrible disease. That makes me more uncomfortable than asking for money ever will. You can donate by clicking here. If you want to share your story with me, I’d be glad to listen. I will add your loved one to the list of people I am walking for. I will continue blogging about my training (which is challenging now that school has started!) and experiences. Join me on this journey.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Laurie hr permalink
    September 14, 2008 7:51 pm

    You go, girl!!! Love you!

Leave a Reply

