Skip to content

The Sky is the Limit!

September 22, 2008

The 3-day is constantly on my mind. We have just 7 short weeks to go before walking 60 miles. I bruised my toe nail during my training walk this weekend. I have never had anything like that happen before, but it’s painful! The 3-day is going to be an incredible test of my pain tolerance. Mine is not as high as my sister’s, but I am pretty sure I’ll make it.

With two pending transactions, I’m just $528 shy of my goal of $2,200. I’d LOVE to hit this by October 1st. I think I can do it. I know there is more money out there. I know some of you are reading this right now and it’s been on your heart to donate but you’re shy. Or you only have $5. Or you don’t know me. Don’t worry. I’ve received donations from $10-250. Every little bit helps. And it doesn’t matter if you know me or not. You will completely make my day if I get an e-mail that says that you’ve donated $5 to help save a life.

My friend has come to a new place in her battle against breast cancer. Her bedroom now looks like a hospital. Her spirits are so high. Higher than mine after a tough day of running around. I’m walking for her. I’m walking so that we can find a cure because I’m tired of breast cancer being such a common prayer concern in church. We hardly flinch anymore. I’m sick of that. I want it to be shocking. It IS shocking. The treatment is brutal. The surgeries are invasive. And the cost is too much. My children will know me. My daughter will live in a world where she does not have to fear getting breast cancer. That is my motivation to keep walking, keep working, and keep giving everything that I have.

School is on my mind as well. 🙂 I do a lot of school. I’m really enjoying it and feel like I’ve gotten the swing of things again. I’m pretty good at going to school. I like doing my work, I like writing and reading, I like discussions with intelligent people. But I’m also ready to read all kinds of books just for fun. I’m ready to start a new chapter in my life. I’m ready to see where God wants me to work and doing what. Why did I get my Masters degree? Surely God has something planned for me (in Slidell) that I couldn’t have done had I not spent the past year+ at Perkins. I wonder what it is.

Louisiana is on my mind. I’m headed to Monroe on Thursday afternoon. The only thing I’ve found to do besides watch the season premier of Grey’s Anatomy, is go see a movie for just $2.50! (New movies and everything!) I’d really like to see My Best Friend’s Girl, but that might be a mild fight… Thankfully, sweet Jarrod likes Grey’s, movies, and doing things that make me happy. 🙂

I’m headed off to the airport to pick up my dear roommate, Amy. She’s been gone for the weekend in Montana meeting with committees, etc for her ordination. I can’t wait to see her! (And neither can Walker!)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

