Skip to content

If gross was sexy, you’d be so sexy.

October 8, 2008

This past weekend I did some things that made me very proud of myself. Over the past several years I have learned the art of standing up for myself, confidence, and being comfortable in my own skin. I have also learned that in order to grow, I have to do things that make me uncomfortable. I’ve forced myself out of my comfort zone many times in order to grow as a person, experience new things, and hopefully learn something. Because of these growth experiences, I am living a truly wonderful life.

Prior to several years ago, I was not taking risks and was subsequently not very happy in life. I attribute my current joy to these trials. This weekend had me reflecting on some turbulent times in my life and the accomplishments that I have made because or in spite of them. On Saturday I walked 15 miles by myself. I am proud of this accomplishment not because I was physically able to walk that far, but because I did not give up. I could have easily turned around, asked for a ride, or not started the walk to begin with. I didn’t and I pray that through the experience I’m having with the 3-day I will be able to transfer this perseverence to my daily life and remember that giving up does not cause growth. I faced some fears this weekend with my head high because life is too short to be fearful. I am proud of who I have become. It is easy to forget how wonderful life is, but when I reflect on the journey, I am even more thankful.

On my walk on Sunday morning before church, I listened to a sermon on Philippians 2:14-16 which says, “Do everything without complaining or arguing, so that you may become blameless and pure, children of God without fault in a crooked and depraved generation, in which you shine like stars in the universe 16as you hold out the word of life—in order that I may boast on the day of Christ that I did not run or labor for nothing.” This is according to the NIV translation, which typically is not my favorite, but I love that it uses the words complaining and arguing. I am so prone to complain and argue. This scripture has been running through my head since Sunday morning. The Benedictines are committed to not grumbling or complaining. Monks are very special people, but I think the world would be a better place if we could all make this commitment.

Life is busy. I’m too busy to even think about the fact that I think I’m getting sick. I do not have time to be sick, so I’m just going to keep going. My feet are still very sore from this weekend. School is kicking me in the behind. A friend and her family are going through a very difficult time and my heart is breaking for them. But I have great friends, the blessed opportunity to choose my family, and the ability to go to school. I am healthy enough to walk 60 miles in 4 weeks. I am loved and I love. Life is so sweet.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 8, 2008 5:07 pm

    it is because of that verse that I have a star tattooed on my hip. as a reminder.

    I am so proud of you for doing this walk, for pushing your limits and am glad to know you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

