Skip to content

Couple of updates

October 17, 2008

1) If you vote on which class I should take and have a strong opinion either way, leave it as a comment. I’m just curious. I only have 2 weeks to make up my mind. Also, price is a factor. There might be just a $200 charge for the Mexico trip, but more than likely it will be $1,400 more than staying in town. Just FYI.

2) If you or someone you know has fought breast cancer, please send me their name. I’d love to add them to my journal that I will have with me on the 3-day. I’m not just walking for my grandma Shirley (which is originally why I thought I was walking!) I’m walking for everyone who has been touched by this horrible disease. Leave names in honor or in memory in the comment section and I’ll carry them with me as I walk.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2008 3:19 pm

    mindy sopher, my friend and kaydee sister. http://www.mylifeline.org/mindysangels/ I think she’s on her zillionth battle against it. I’m kind of not exaggerating. she’s an inspiration to so many people–even has an award named after her at NC State!

    also, I say go to mexico. not because of the money. because it is a once-in-a-lifetime. there will be other chances for you to take that class, I think.

  2. October 19, 2008 8:53 pm

    I voted for the marriage counseling course. Just guessing that you have probably learned a relative lot already about ministry in global contexts, social justice, etc. (by your travel, the stuff you read, the people you hang around, the atmosphere at Perkins, and just being generally awesome.)

    I found that my seminary experience was really lacking in pastoral care…even though I took the 1 required class plus CPE.

    Even though you don’t necessarily wanna be a pastor, pastoral care is just kind of a life skill and it never hurts to improve.

    Just my $0.02 🙂 ‘Cause I’m bored tonight!

  3. marie sargent Lindgren permalink
    October 21, 2008 8:02 am

    One of my best life-long friends…..Linda Grabeman who lives in Pawley’s Island, SC. (Brent’s God mother) has fought and is in remission. I love her…she is a godly woman, she writes bible studies for her small group, very connected to her church family, has 3 lovely children and a wonderful husband.

  4. marie sargent Lindgren permalink
    October 21, 2008 8:04 am

    Go global…it is much easier to take classes on counceling in the states….

Leave a Reply

