Skip to content

Update from Slidell

December 22, 2008

dscn0270

I’ve been feeling a little under the weather this week, so I haven’t been doing a whole lot but lounging lazily on the couch. It’s been incredibly wonderful, but I have been very lazy. While Jarrod is off working everyday, I’ve been making save the date cards, preparing wedding invitations, and doing a little bit of cleaning. I’ve also really enjoyed getting all of the animals settled.

Jarrod’s surprise party was wonderful, although not as much of a surprise. The staff Christmas party on Thursday night was very fun. It was great to get to know the rest of Jarrod’s staff. The College/Twenty-somethings party on Friday night was super fun as well. Jarrod’s mom flew in on

dscn0269

Saturday morning to see Jarrod conduct Vivaldi’s Gloria on Sunday morning. The music was absolutely gorgeous. I was so proud of Jarrod’s hard work and very impressed with the choir. It was wonderful to have Mary Jo here. We relaxed and had a great time together.

Jarrod and I have had a good time playing house. It’s been nice to spend so much time with him. We’ve watched some movies, gone shopping, gone out to eat, baked, and relaxed this week. The Christmas tree is up with presents under it for friends and family from New Jersey to Lubbock. I knew that spending this much time together would be a great test and it’s been so nice. I love listening to him play the guitar in the other room.

dscn0276We leave in a few days for New Jersey to spend time with my family. Jarrod is so nervous about meeting my family. I know that everyone is going to adore him. He wants to make sure that he has the appropriate clothing. (“Do I need a suit for our engagement party?”) He just wants to be sure that everything is perfect. He’s precious.

Wedding Update: I made 30 save the date cards that just need the magnets attached. The save the dates are chocolate card stock with caribbean cardstock on top and then ivory printable invite on top of that. They are sized perfectly to have the appropriate space on the sides. I’m taping them with permanent tape runner. The ivory has hotel info printed in chocolate on the bottom and then the magnet will be glued on top. The magnet is made from thick magnet paper from Oriental Trading that has an adhesive side. I’ve designed save the dates 6 to a page with our wedding website and engagement photo on it. Obviously we don’t have our engagement pictures yet, so I’m waiting on those. Once I have those, I’m adding them in and will have them printed at Kinkos. Then they will be cut with the magnets. Once they are attached to the save the dates, we can send them out!

I also had time to tape all of the brown and caribbean cards together for the invites. The invites will be similar to the save the dates with the ivory printable as the actual invitation. It’s nice to be all caught up on that stuff. Jarrod and I worked on the guest list as well…ever expanding. I’m going to have to order more invite supplies because we’re coming up quickly on 150! (Invites, not guests!)

While I was reading some wedding websites, I discovered SparkPeople. It is an awesome website that tracks calories, gives exercise suggestions, etc. I just started using it today and I’m very impressed. I’m not trying to lose a lot of weight, but I am trying to slim down and get healthy again before the wedding. I don’t feel as good about myself right now becuase I’ve stopped working out and started eating whatever I want. I want to feel perfect in my dress in July! 🙂

Alright, I’m about to watch the Duggar special when they have their 18th child. I’m trying to get Jarrod to watch it with me so we can take notes…haha!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Laurie hr permalink
    December 23, 2008 9:26 pm

    looks like Oliver & Sophie are settling in fine. 🙂

  2. Robin permalink
    December 25, 2008 12:18 am

    The Duggar family CREEPS ME OUT!! They need to stop having babies. Seriously!

Leave a Reply

