Skip to content

Living in abundance

January 19, 2009

It is easy to live in sarcity. I never have enough time to get everything done that I need to get done. I never have enough money to buy everything I want. I can always think of what more I want or think that I need. I need to graduate. I need a job in Louisiana. I need to plan a wedding…I need money to plan a wedding…I need time to plan a wedding. πŸ™‚ I don’t get to spend enough time to Jarrod. I have to move away from my friends and family to live in Louisiana. I feel so torn.

Last night Jarrod and his church did a Taize service and I got to thinking about abundance. While it is easy to live in sarcity, living in abundance is so much more fulfilling. I sat in the sanctuary in the glow of about a million candles and thought of all the things I have to be thankful for. My life is so full.

I have an incredibly talented fiance that can lead music in five distinct worship services in one day including guitar playing, keyboard playing, running around with children, and beautiful contemplative leading from the piano. I have two precious cats and an adopted dog. We love cuddling on the couch together like a family. Jarrod and I have so many people that love us that it’s going to take me days to address our wedding invitations. We have chosen to invite everyone that loves us. We can’t wait to have everyone in the same room to witness our union. I am almost done with my masters degree. Who ever thought I’d get my masters degree! I have a wonderful job that I really enjoy. I have beautiful friends all over the country. I am about to embark on a new adventure that has me moving to a new city where I already feel so warmly welcomed. I have the chance to get a job that utilizes all of my skills and will teach me new things. I’ll also hopefully be able to make new friends. I am healthy. I can do pilates everyday. I can train for the 3-day. I can walk 60 miles to help raise awareness for breast cancer research and prevention.

It’s just good to remind myself sometimes of the abdunance that I’m living in. πŸ™‚ Life in Louisiana is going well. Jarrod and I have enjoyed spending time together. We relaxed on Friday. We ran some errands and had a lovely date. Jarrod took me to see Marley & Me. I sobbed for the last 45 minutes of the movie and then continued to cry for about 20 minutes after the movie. Yeah. Then we went to Copeland’s for a romantic dinner. We brought cheesecake home and ate it while cuddling on the couch. On Saturday we ran some more errands and relaxed. In the afternoon Jarrod worked up at the church and I did pilates and made dinner. We grilled tilapia and made some brown rice. It was lovely. Jarrod rented Forgetting Sarah Marshall so we cuddled on the couch with the animals and watched a movie.

Sunday was nuts. We went to the three morning services together and then went to dinner with Jarrod’s pastors. After lunch we had about an hour to veg at home before Jarrod had to head back to church. I stayed home and did pilates and hung out before heading to the church for Family Night Live and Taize. It was awesome to see how incredibly talented Jarrod is. He is great with kids and will run around with them. He can skillfully conduct a choir of adults. He can funk it up at the keyboard. The day ended with him leading the Taize service from the piano. I don’t know how he does it. I am so lucky.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

