Skip to content

I’m walking.

January 29, 2009

You know I’m walking in the breast cancer 3-day. You know because I talk about it all the time. I write about it. I tell you how my toes swelled bigger than they’ve ever been and I thought they were going to explode. You listen to me complain and get choked up because it was the most moving experience of my life. I tell you I walk for Janet, Grandma Shirley, and countless other women who are part of my community.

What I haven’t shared is that I’m walking for my daughter. I’m walking for my son. I’m walking for Jarrod. I’m walking for our family that is just beginning. I’m walking for my sister, my best friends, my sister in law, my (future) nephews. I’m walking because statistically one of my dear girlfriends will be affected by Breast Cancer. I am walking because I want to know that there is a cure and that breast cancer isn’t a death sentence. I don’t want to watch my friend lose her hair. I don’t want Jarrod to look in my eyes while I go through chemo. I don’t want another woman to lose her life to something preventable.

I just watched this (thanks, Robin!) and was moved to tears. She doesn’t directly talk about the 3-day, but she shows pictures of closing ceremonies. If you donate now, you won’t have to worry about feeling guilty between now and November…because I’m not going to stop posting these emotional posts… ๐Ÿ˜‰

On another note, I got a flu shot today. It hurts. That’s all. ๐Ÿ™‚

One Comment leave one →
  1. Robin permalink
    January 30, 2009 1:02 pm

    I kind of sort of might have cried (more like sobbing for me) when the woman started to cry at the end!

Leave a Reply

