Skip to content

3-day Ambassador

February 24, 2009

dscn0140This morning I was asked to be an Online Ambassador for the Breast Cancer 3-day in Dallas/Ft. Worth. This 3day_ambassador_badgebasically means that I blog about the 3-day between now and November. It’s going to be a real challenge… 😉 Receiving the e-mail and information has reminded me why this event is so important. Here are some things you might not know…

Nancy G. Brinker promised her dying sister, Susan G. Komen, she would do everything in her power to end breast cancer forever. In 1982, that promise became Susan G. Komen for the Cure® and launched the global breast cancer movement. Today, Komen for the Cure is the world’s largest grassroots network of breast cancer survivors and activists fighting to save lives, empower people, ensure quality care for all and energize science to find the cures. Thanks to events like the Komen Race for the Cure® and the Breast Cancer 3-Day, the organization has invested nearly $1.2 billion to fulfill its promise, becoming the largest source of nonprofit funds dedicated to the fi ght against breast cancer in the world.

Susan G. Komen for the Cure has been in existence since the year I was born. In 27 years, they have raised $1.2 billion to make sure that someday breast cancer is no longer taking the lives of men and women.

Two statistics that scare me:

  • One in eight women in the U.S. will be diagnosed with breast cancer in her lifetime.dscn0156
  • The greatest risk factors for breast cancer are being female and growing older.

It is scary to think that one out of eight women will be diagnosed with breast cancer. Statistically, I will know someone close to me that will have breast cancer. And the two greatest risk factors are things that cannot be controlled.

Breast cancer is close to my heart because my grandmother passed away before I was born after battling breast cancer for 4 years back in the 70s. Breast cancer took her life about 3.5 years before I was born. I think we would have been good friends. I’ve also lost friends to breast cancer. I’ve seen women suffer painful treatment, weight and hair loss, and complete dependence upon others. Once vibrant, independent women are forced to rely on others to even get out of bed.

n18800965_33786355_1331I was wearing my Rack Pack t-shirt out recently and had the opportunity to talk about the 3-day with some folks. I was prompted to tell the group how much money my team raised last year. ($108,877.38 by closing ceremonies) They were shocked, to say the least. Jarrod informed them that each participant must raise $2,300 to walk (up $100 from last year). This is not a recommended donation. In order to walk, every participant must raise $2,300. You put your credit/debit card on the line if you are not at your goal by the time registration is open. It’s challenging, but I’m all for raising the expectations to increase the quality of the experience. Everyone can raise $2,300, but it is not easy. It takes a community of people who are not walking to help that one person who is.

If you’ve been feeling a tug to walk in the 3-day this year but are scared about training, walking, port-o-potties, camping out, raising money, or blisters, today is the day where you get over your fears and register. I’m more afraid of losing someone I love from cancer than I am of any anxiety around the 3-day. (and if you know me, you know I am a master of anxiety!) I am not a camper, hate sleeping outside, and have never been an athlete. But not only am I crazy enough to walk once, I’m committing to walking as long as I can. Join me.

If you can’t walk (for whatever reason) please donate to someone who is walking. $2,300 is a lot of money (about 1/3 of our wedding budget!) but every $10 helps. Feel free to send this blog to folks you know that have been touched by breast cancer. I will continue writing about my training, fundraising, and preparations for the 3-day in the midst of graduating from seminary, getting married, and moving to Louisiana! Anyone can donate, even if you don’t know me personally. 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Laurie hr permalink
    February 24, 2009 11:19 pm

    you are the best!

  2. Pam DeSimone permalink
    February 26, 2009 8:59 pm

    I’m so proud of you for walking again and of your sister for joining you. I hope people begin to donate early so you can get that worry off your minds.

Trackbacks

  1. 3-day Ambassador Posts « this is what i do
  2. I feel like a winner. « this is what i do

Leave a Reply

