Skip to content

Blessed beyond measure

March 2, 2009

This weekend my dad and Jarrod both came to Dallas for a visit. It was a crazy few days, but it was absolutely wonderful. On Thursday afternoon I left work to get Jarrod from the airport and head to Dad’s hotel. Dad got there shortly after that and we went to Taco Cabana for a small snack. After that, we met with Jarrod’s dad and friend Pam at the church. Pam is in charge of the weddings at the church so she walked us through the important things that we need to know. Jarrod’s dad made sure that we were well taken care of. It was lovely. We are very comfortable getting married there and know we will be well cared for. We discussed communion, banners, music, and the Bachelor. 😉

After church, we went to Babes in Carrollton for dinner. Totally freaking amazing. It was Jarrod, me, his folks, and my dad. It was the perfect environment for a casual and low-key meeting. We laughed, ate amazing food, and had fun together. After a few errands and getting Dad to his hotel, we went to Tom and Jessica’s house to hang out before bed.

Friday morning Jarrod and I hung out with Tom and the boys. Jarrod and Tom love each other so much and I love when they get to spend time together. We met up with Dad at my place and headed to check out the Pavillion and rosedscn0167 dscn0166garden in Farmers Branch. We’re thinking that the rehearsal dinner will be there, so we wanted Dad to see that. After we wandered outside for a while, we went to the Farmers Branch Convention Center to check out the reception site. We met the coordinator and planned out the seating. Perfect. After we checked that out, we went to On the Border for lunch. Totally awesome Mexican. After that, we went to get some last minute groceries and headed home to get ready for the big family dinner. We had most of Jarrod’s family and some wedding party for dinner to meet dad and spend time together. Matthew brought cake, Megan and I made casserole, Mary Jo made salad, Tom made awesome queso, and Dad made amazing guacamole. We had close to 20 people here, all part of our family. It was magical. It was awesome to see my roommate talking with Jarrod’s grandmother, my dad chatting with Matthew, and Peyton and Jarrod sharing dinner together. It made my heart so happy to have everyone in our home. Everyone seemed to have a really good time…mostly because the cake was so freaking good!

I am so thankful that there are such fantastic people that I consider family. dscn0168It was magical having everyone in one place. I can only imagine what our wedding will be like. I get teary just thinking about everyone being in the same room because they love Jarrod and I. I think about walking down the aisle in my gorgeous dress and seeing my handsome man at the other end of the church. I can’t wait to dance with him for the first time as a married couple. I can’t wait to share vows with each other. I can’t wait to greet people as they prepare to receive communion. I can’t wait to listen to Laurie sing gorgeous music. I can’t wait to see the beautiful flowers and delicious cake. We are so freaking blessed.

Tonight I’m watching the Bachelor season finale. I got sucked in this season and can’t wait to see how it all works out. I’m also reading for class… It’s the last week before spring break, so the pressure is on. I have two projects due this week and a ton of reading to get done in preparation for spring break. During my week off I have two projects to work on, lots of books to read, and invitations to put together. Jarrod made an appointment for us to get our wedding bands on Friday. I can’t wait. I’m so excited to do this because it brings us one step closer to being married. Hopefuly I’ll have some job interviews over spring break as well… I really need to get a job in Louisiana. 🙂

Several people have asked me about the recipe for the casserole I made for family dinner on Friday night. Megan introduced me to this recipe and it was amazing.

Mexican Corn Bread Casserole
1 can of kidney beans (drained)
1 can of creamed corn
1 can of rotel or diced tomatoes
1 can of diced green chillis
1 lb of turkey or beef (I used ground turkey with diced onions and taco seasoning)
shredded cheese.
2 boxes of Jiffy cornbread
milk
egg

Brown the meat. Mix the beans, corn, chillis, and corn together in a big bowl. Add meat. Pour into a 9×13″ pan. Sprinkle cheese on top of mixture. Prepare cornbread mix according to box. Pour cornbread mix into pan. Bake according to cornbread box or until brown on top. Eat. Add variations as needed. Omit meat, add black beans, etc. Enjoy!

Anyway, back to the Bachelor. 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

