Skip to content

Organ donation

April 13, 2009

I’ve always been passionate about organ donation. Even from a very young age, it just made sense to me. In 1995 my uncle had a heart transplant and was given a new lease on life. Receiving an organ donation is not an easy process, but it provides quality of life. Over the past several months we have had several people close to us that have needed or received organs. Jarrod’s accompanist’s husband was just put on the heart transplant list in Houston. A woman at school recently received an organ. My house-sisters and I are mindful of the tragedy that accompanies organ donation. In the midst of tragedy, a family chooses to make an incredible decision to donate life.

Maybe this is controversial, I don’t know, but I figure you can’t use your organs after death, why not let someone else use them? I pray that I live a long life and by the time I die, no one will want my 105 year old organs. But if something tragic happens and I’m able to give my organs to someone else to help them live longer and with better life quality, why not do that? The thing about organ donation is that it doesn’t matter what I want, it matters that those closest to me know my wishes. Ultimately my next of kin will make the decision. So, I make sure that everyone around me knows that I am not going to be bringing any of my organs or anything else anyone will need from my body with me when I die.

Yesterday I found out that my dear friend, Renee’s cousin had passed away. Leigh Bess Boone is the bicyclist in this story. She was young, fit, and vibrant. She was 29. I received updates from Renee and her mom all week. More news stories…(here and here.) Her mom said it best in her final update, “Because Leigh desired to be a donor and her family considered that a fitting tribute to her life, 8 people will have their lives saved or at least dramatically improved.” This is such an incredibly tragic story. Organ donation provides at least something positive in the midst of something so terrible. I forwarded the e-mail to my aunt as a reminder of how special organ donation really is. “We realize he would have been gone in 1995 without the generosity of his donor and her family.”

If you are not an organ donor, or if you are but your family does not know, please consider doing some research about organ donation. Talk about it with your family. Questions? Feel free to comment. Comments? Feel free to comment. 😉

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Robin permalink
    April 13, 2009 11:59 am

    I am an organ donor by accident…but I am totally ok with it. I didn’t mark the box on whether or not I wanted to be one when i became a resident of Virginia cause it wasn’t something I had thought about. But then when they gave me my license it has the big ORGAN DONOR mark on it. So I thought about it and decided that its ok to leave it on there for forever…but still hope that I live a long healthy life :).

  2. Pam DeSimone permalink
    April 13, 2009 6:00 pm

    Thanks for the reminder, Leanne. the tragedy of the donor family can’t be erased by anything, no matter how many lives are saved, but the gift to the recipient and that family can never be appreciated until you are part of that family.

Leave a Reply

