Skip to content

Important Products – Breast Cancer 3-day

April 22, 2009

3day_ambassador_badgeHello 3-day walkers!! The weather here in Dallas is gorgeous so I’ve been doing a lot of walking around the neighborhood more and more. For me, walking means blisters. I’ve always gotten blisters and I’m learning how to treat them because I haven’t found anything that really PREVENTS them. (Good shoes, body glide, and heel cups work well, but ultimately I still blister.)

Anyway, I thought now would be a good time to write about some important products for training and preparing for this 60 mile journey. Here are some of the things I cannot live without…

  • new-skin-liquid-bandage-739617New Skin – If you blister or get hot spots, this is essential. You paint it on and it is just a little thicker than nail polish. New Skin heals and protects blisters and the tender skin that blisters produce. I typically drain blisters and then paint a thin layer of New Skin over the blister and it heals over night. On long training walks when hot spots appear, I will paint New Skin on the hot spot in hopes to prevent blisters.
  • body_glideBody Glide – Body Glide is essential. I spread it all over my body on hot training walks. This magical stick looks like deodorant and feels like creamy Vaseline. Body Glide is not greasy and helps prevent chafing, rashes, or hot spots. I rub this on the bottoms of my feet, under arms, and thighs. They sell large, deodorant-sized sticks and smaller, travel sized sticks. I have the smaller one and cannot imagine ever using all of it.
  • Clothes with pockets – On the 3-day you will want a pocket to keep your chapstick or camera without digging through your bag. I love clothing with pockets. For training (but not official!) walks, these pockets are great for iPods as well. I have a pair of wicking pants from the Gap with a small pocket on the hip, perfect for keys, iPod, or cell phone. I also have an awesome Nike (wish it was New Balance) tank top with a pocket in the middle of the lower back.
  • Camelbak – Your pockets can’t hold everything so you’ll need some kind of bag to hold your ID, socks, Body Glide, New Skin, camera, layers, and WATER! You’ll see everything from fanny packs to full on back packs, but I love the Camelbak. I didn’t realize it, but the bag I picked because of the cute colors, was actually a child’s CamelBak… But it worked perfectly because I am only 5’4″. I wore the Mini-M.U.L.E and had absolutely no problems. Whatever you pick, be sure to test it out on a long training walk. Be sure to full it with snacks, water, socks, and an additional water bottle so you get used to carrying it with extra weight. Your bag will need to carry everything you’ll need as you shed layers, cover in the rain, treat blisters, and eat. (there is LOTS of eating on the 3-day!)
  • Water bottle – If you aren’t using a CamelBak, you will need two water bottles, one for gatorade and one for water. It’s crucial to drink both. If you are using a CamelBak, use that for water and get a water bottle for gatorade. My absolute favorite bottles are these. They don’t leak or sweat and they close to hide the straw, which makes the germaphobe in me very happy. The mouth of the bottle is wide enough to fill at pit stops. Plus, the carabiner makes it easy to hook the bottle to your CamelBak. I use my bottle all year round, but find it especially helpful for the 3-day. I bought mine at Target for like $8.

Of course you will also need great socks, expensive shoes, a huge bag with wheels, and a warm sleeping bag. I’ll write more about those things later in the year. Don’t be overwhelmed. There is a lot to buy, but do it in small doses and don’t overwhelm your wallet. Questions? Please feel free to leave comments. I’m happy to share as openly as you need! Happy training!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2009 2:09 pm

    As I shared with you via Facebook, I’ve been singing the praises of your posts. As a first-time walker this year, I freely admit how clueless I am about how to prepare, and was so excited to find your posts about what to bring, what to wear, how to preserve my feet, etc. Sooooo much to learn, try out, and BUY! 🙂

    Talk more about heel cups. What about all the supportive inserts for our shoes? Worth it? Worthless?

    I haven’t done any long-distance walking yet, as I’m really very much just getting started. I did the Katy Trail 5K with my teammate, Allison, and saw you at this morning’s Frisco kickoff event [though I didn’t figure it out until later], and find myself panicking a bit about the longer training walks scheduled for later in the summer and fall. Which is silly, really, when I think about 3 days of 20 miles a day! OY!

    Thanks so much for your very valuable posts, know that newbies like me are really hungry for the information, and thanks for showing us it’s possible. Not easy, but definitely an achievable goal. YAY! 🙂

  2. Erin permalink
    July 7, 2009 10:14 pm

    I’m walking in the Boston 3Day in a few weeks. I bookmarked your page because it has some great advice! Thank you…I was just researching Camelbaks and found the Mini M.U.L.E but was not sure about it until I read that’s what you got. We’re about the same height so I’m going to give it a shot.

    Thanks!!

Trackbacks

  1. 3-day Ambassador Posts « this is what i do

Leave a Reply

