Skip to content

A New Life

May 13, 2009

I almost made the title of this post “a whole new world” but decided against it… 😉

I am in Louisiana officially. I began training for my new job on Monday. I haven’t written much about even getting a job, so I’ll share some now. I have accepted a part-time (to grow to full time hopefully soon!) in a suburb near where Jarrod lives. I will be in charge of making people feel comfortable through hospitality, writing notes, organization, office supplies, and gifts. So far, I’m really enjoying myself! Please be in prayer as the business hopefully grows to support me full-time.

I have had a difficult time adjusting to the move. But even as I write that, it’s only been a week and a half, so I guess I’m doing pretty good! I don’t cry everyday anymore, so that’s good… 🙂 I’m working on making some new friends and not being a recluse. I joined a committee at church, am almost done with The Shack (and HIGHLY recommend it!), and will be sporting a pretty nice tan at graduation on Saturday.

Oh, that’s right… I’m graduating on Saturday! With my MASTERS degree. How freaking cool is that?! Yeah, I only work part time. Yeah, I’m making peanuts. But I’ll have my masters degree. I never thought I’d get another degree and I definitely didn’t think I would do as well as I did. Only two of my 4 grades have posted so far. My GPA for the semester is a 3.85 and my cumulative GPA is a 3.728. I’m not bragging, just very proud of myself! I worked HARD! (My graduating GPA from SMU the first time was a 3.0…and let’s be honest…I wasn’t business or pre-med!)

Jarrod and I leave in the morning for a quick trip to Dallas. Over the short weekend I will spend time with friends and family, get my cap and gown, return cap and gown, pick up my wedding dress from my last fitting, walk 3 miles and kick off official training for the 3-day, and pack up some of my things in the garage to bring back to Louisiana. My dad will be in town and I’m excited about that. I’m also excited to see my wedding dress again with all of my accessories…including my veil and shoes! I cannot wait to spend some time with four of my favorite people ever…we’re staying with Jarrod’s brother and sister in law and their two boys this weekend. YAY for Tom and Jess!

That’s all for now. More after our crazy weekend! I promise pictures (but not of the dress!) by next week.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

