Skip to content

153

June 7, 2009

3day_ambassador_badge153 days until the Breast Cancer 3-day! Lucy (the dog) and I have been walking and found some great paths that include forests, new houses, and sprinklers. She is an AWESOME trainer because she walks very fast and always wants to be in the lead. She only gets tired if it is REALLY hot and even then only at mile 3! She’s a trooper.

I’m going to have to start training harder than Lucy can go pretty soon. I told my sister yesterday that all the 4 mile walks in the world aren’t going to teach you as much as one weekend of back to backs. 12 miles on Saturday and 10 miles on Sunday. That is what will prepare you to walk 20 miles three days in a row. I have already purchased all of my socks, clothing, camelbak, sports bras, and one pair of shoes. I’m training in those clothes because what will moderately irritate over 4 miles will be unbearable after 10. I am hoping that next month (after the wedding and the move) I’ll be able to train more regularly and go further than I am now. Time is precious these days. 🙂

Fundraising is also going well. I have one pending company match which puts me at $1,620. That’s AWESOME with 5 months left to go! I still need $680 to meet my goal of $2,300. I’d love to meet that sooner rather than later so that I can focus my fundraising attention on my sister and the rest of the team. If you want to help me meet my goal, please consider donating whatever you can. If everyone who reads this blog donated just $10, I’d meet my goal and we’d be that much closer to finding a cure for (breast) cancer.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

