Skip to content

A Virtual Thank You Note

July 20, 2009

My mom and grandma taught me to never use a gift before writing a thank you note. We have written all but one thank you note for wedding gifts (one gift came in today and we finished writing notes this weekend). I feel strangely guilty not writing thank you notes immediately. I received two boxes today and don’t have anywhere to send a thank you note, so I’m writing a virtual thank you note to all.

On June 23rd, I wrote a post about an incredible e-mail I received. I’ve been anxiously awaiting my box ever since. I ask Jarrod everyday on my way home from work if anything has arrived. Today he said no but when I walked in the door one of the first things I saw was this:

DSCN0382

Jarrod knows I don’t like surprises that are suspected, but love reall surprises that are completely unknown. I was THRILLED to see that this package had both my maiden name and my married name on it; a sure sign it was from New Balance! I am not ashamed to say that I cried a little bit. I took a few minutes to find my camera and thank my sweet husband before settling on the floor to open the boxes. I am so humble and honored to have received these gifts.

I tore into the first box to find a box of New Balance walking shoes. Of course they are pink and covered in 3-day ribbons. A little more crying. What did I do to deserve this? I am so honored.

DSCN0383

If you know me or have ever seen me walk, you know I ADORE New Balance shoes. I’ve loved them for over a decade, but since I’ve started walking, I’d never spend money on anything but New Balance. After this, that’s ESPECIALLY true! After opening the first box, I started tearing into the second. More happiness fills my heart when I find an awesome 3-day shirt, wind pants, and a windbreaker. Each with the pink ribbon.

DSCN0385DSCN0387I am humbled and astonished to receive this gift. I have said this before, but it’s worth saying again – I do not walk to receive recognition. I did not write posts to get shoes. Honestly, I can barely believe that I was given these gifts. Everytime I wear them or see them in my closet, I will be thankful. Regardless, I will keep walking as long as I have feet until there is a cure. Thanks to the 3-day and New Balance, I’ll be walking in style. And thanks to Lucy, I’ll be walking with enthusiasm.

DSCN0388Please accept this as my sincere appreciation for the shoes, pants, shirt, and windbreaker. This gift is even more motivation to keep writing helpful blog posts and raising money and awareness for the Breast Cancer 3-day and Susan G. Komen for a Cure.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Laurie hr permalink
    July 20, 2009 9:15 pm

    I’m so excited for you! You deserve it. You are amazing!
    You go, girl!!

Leave a Reply

